Conference Chair – Sherri Hope Culver

Sherri Hope Culver is an Associate Professor at Temple University, Department of Media Studies and Production and serves as Director of the Center for Media and Information Literacy.  She is currently serving her third term as President of the National Association for Media Literacy Education.


Program Chair- Vanessa Domine

Vanessa Domine is associate professor and chairperson of Secondary and Special Education at Montclair State University. She holds BA and MA degrees in communication studies from San Jose State University and a PhD in media ecology from New York University. Her research intersects education, technology and new media and health literacies.

Visibility Chair – Tina Peterson

Tina L. Peterson, Ph.D., is a consultant with the News Literacy Project. She has a doctorate in mass media and communication from Temple University. She is also a children’s author whose first book, “Oscar and the Amazing Gravity Repellent,” is forthcoming in fall 2015 from Capstone. Her blog, in media parentis, is at


Website Chair – David Magolis

David Magolis is an Associate Professor of Mass Communications at Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania.  He teaches in the Emergent Media curriculum, which includes media literacy, web design, social communication, and media image design and development. David will serve as the website chair for the 2015 NAMLE conference.


Sponsorship / Development Chair- Michelle Ciulla Lipkin

Michelle Ciulla Lipkin has been the Executive Director of NAMLE since September 2012. After graduating from NYU’s Film School in 1994, Michelle began her career in children’s television production, working for Nickelodeon from 1995 – 2000. Michelle returned to NYU to earn her graduate degree at the Gallatin School of Individualized Study.



Youth Media / Modern Media Makers (M3) Co-Chair – Emily Bailin 

Emily Bailin is a doctoral student in the Education and Communication Ed.D. program at Teachers College at Columbia University. She holds a masters in Education, Culture & Society from the University of Pennsylvania’s Graduate School of Education. Her work involves critical media literacy, multimodality, storytelling, and culturally relevant pedagogies.

emilybModern Media Makers (M3) Co-Chair – Emily Bonilla

Emily Bonilla is video production teacher at Essex County Vocational Schools at their Bloomfield Tech campus since 2008. Before teaching, Emily worked as a video producer/editor in New York. She left the production world for the opportunity to create a high school production class grounded within the framework of media literacy while promoting critical thinking and creativity. She has a B.F.A in film production from Emerson College and just recently earned a MAEdL in educational leadership and school administration.

Thomas Werner • ASMP Members Portraits • October 29, 2010

Exhibits Chair – Thomas Werner

Thomas is an Assistant Professor at Parsons The New School for Design. He lectures internationally on education and professional practice; worked with the State Department as a cultural representative; partnered with 29 Russian organizations focusing on educational methodologies and creative cultures; developed a media and literacy site for UNESCO/UNAOC in 5 languages; and is currently writing a book on the fashion image.

Awards Chair – Amy JensenM-AmyJensen10-9-10240

Amy is Chair of the Theatre and Media Arts Department at Brigham Young University.  She has served as the Co-editor of the Journal of Media Literacy Education and on the board of directors for the National Association for Media Literacy Education. Amy is the recipient of the NAMLE Meritorious Service Award (2011).